Putting in Road

Started by whit, March 04, 2011, 02:59:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

whit

Hey there folks. I'm a newbie to this site and haven't found very much talk on road construction. Presumeably most people buying land are being faced with this first task of clearing the land and putting in a road. Because I am going to be doing this work solo or maybe with another buddy or two, I am wondering what the best product to put down would be. My first thought of course is gravel but that may be a little expensive and might be over kill as I probably only need an inch or two of that on top. My other ideas are gravel mixed with stone dust or mixed with dirt.

To try and give you an image of what I have landwise, I am basically in a mountanous area. The land I am buying is pretty flat although there is still 2 to 3 feet of snow on it (I know because I walked the lot). It is wooded but the tree's are pretty small in diameter, 1 to 2 inches which tells me someone may have started clearing it some time ago and stopped. I am getting this land many years after the initial purchase. I am betting that there will be dips and valley's to fill in and I certainly don't want to do this all with gravel. I will put in about a 80 to 100 foot road about 4 to 5 feet wide. Also keep in mind that we get serious thaw in the Spring and roads get pretty wet punck not to mention run off.

Anybody got any tips. Keep in mind I won't be using a tractor, a bobcat or anything like that. The dump truck will drop a tandum at my lot and I will manually build the road with wheel barrel and shovel. I once did the landscaping for a back yard I had which was about 1/4 acre by myself. It took 5 tandums (18 yards each) of topsoail which I wheeled from the drive way to the back yard, so I'm not afraid of hard work  ;D

Redoverfarm

w* Whit