Author Topic: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?  (Read 8214 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline John Raabe

  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,549
  • Whidbey Island, WA
    • CountryPlans - About Us
Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« on: March 27, 2008, 01:35:51 PM »
I've been tweaking a bit of code on the template form for the forum. Has the above text replaced the SMF logo for you? Are there any new problems you've noticed? (I don't really know PHP code!)
None of us are as smart as all of us.

Offline glenn kangiser

  • The Troglodyte
  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 24,910
  • Central California Sierras- Home of Yosemite NP
    • Underground Cabin
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2008, 03:02:10 PM »
Still got SMF logo and Simple Machines Forum.
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

Offline MountainDon

  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 16,606
  • Jemez Mountains, NM; that's pronounced HEY-mess
    • My 15.75 x 30 Jemez Cabin
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2008, 03:39:56 PM »
Building & Design help for the involved home owner in white text


That's what I see to the right of the CountryPlans Logo. It replaced the simple machines built in stuff


I had a look at PHP and said Wow, I don't know about that.  ???
Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn’t mean it is good design.

Offline John Raabe

  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,549
  • Whidbey Island, WA
    • CountryPlans - About Us
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2008, 03:49:21 PM »
Glenn:

Try a refresh on the cache or forum page. The template reporter says that 2600 people are using that template. Just a little tweak to replace the SMF logo.

I'm too scared to go much further.... I tried taking out the weird "total time logged in" but kept breaking something. :-* ???
None of us are as smart as all of us.

Offline glenn kangiser

  • The Troglodyte
  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 24,910
  • Central California Sierras- Home of Yosemite NP
    • Underground Cabin
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2008, 04:38:01 PM »
I like the time logged in thing --- hurries me up sometimes.

I was looking at the wrong thing I think -- SMF on the right Countryplans on the left -- I got it now. ;D
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

Offline MountainDon

  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 16,606
  • Jemez Mountains, NM; that's pronounced HEY-mess
    • My 15.75 x 30 Jemez Cabin
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2008, 05:07:45 PM »
It should be...



Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn’t mean it is good design.

Offline glenn kangiser

  • The Troglodyte
  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 24,910
  • Central California Sierras- Home of Yosemite NP
    • Underground Cabin
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2008, 05:15:45 PM »
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

Offline glenn kangiser

  • The Troglodyte
  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 24,910
  • Central California Sierras- Home of Yosemite NP
    • Underground Cabin
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2008, 05:16:51 PM »
Sassy's is like Don's.

I feel so special. ::)
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

Offline MountainDon

  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 16,606
  • Jemez Mountains, NM; that's pronounced HEY-mess
    • My 15.75 x 30 Jemez Cabin
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2008, 05:23:29 PM »
Glenn, you have got to learn how to let go of the old and embrace the new.  8)

Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn’t mean it is good design.

Offline glenn kangiser

  • The Troglodyte
  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 24,910
  • Central California Sierras- Home of Yosemite NP
    • Underground Cabin
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #9 on: March 27, 2008, 05:26:24 PM »
I've always been one for the old ways.
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

Offline glenn kangiser

  • The Troglodyte
  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 24,910
  • Central California Sierras- Home of Yosemite NP
    • Underground Cabin
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #10 on: March 27, 2008, 05:27:26 PM »
Fixed it. I printed out the new one and pasted it to my screen.  [idea]

Not really.
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

Offline glenn kangiser

  • The Troglodyte
  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 24,910
  • Central California Sierras- Home of Yosemite NP
    • Underground Cabin
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #11 on: March 27, 2008, 05:49:41 PM »
Got it now -- I was using a different template -- switched to the John one.

Now I'm like everyone else.  hmm May have to switch back.   ::)
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

Offline MountainDon

  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 16,606
  • Jemez Mountains, NM; that's pronounced HEY-mess
    • My 15.75 x 30 Jemez Cabin
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #12 on: March 27, 2008, 06:00:21 PM »
Ah I see. Nearly everyone (2601) was using the default when I looked just now. 1 ea on the Yabb SE and babylon. Independent thinkers? Or ornery?  ;D
Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn’t mean it is good design.

Offline glenn kangiser

  • The Troglodyte
  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 24,910
  • Central California Sierras- Home of Yosemite NP
    • Underground Cabin
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #13 on: March 27, 2008, 06:04:04 PM »
Not a team player-- always been my motto. ::)
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

Offline MountainDon

  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 16,606
  • Jemez Mountains, NM; that's pronounced HEY-mess
    • My 15.75 x 30 Jemez Cabin
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #14 on: March 27, 2008, 06:06:10 PM »
So I wonder who's the other one?
Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn’t mean it is good design.

Offline glenn kangiser

  • The Troglodyte
  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 24,910
  • Central California Sierras- Home of Yosemite NP
    • Underground Cabin
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #15 on: March 27, 2008, 06:12:27 PM »
I don't know -- I switched --

but at first when John switched to one of the old templates I went to another template because some of the functionality was lost with the one he switched to -- there was a missing function I somehow felt I deserved and required.  ::)
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

Offline John Raabe

  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,549
  • Whidbey Island, WA
    • CountryPlans - About Us
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #16 on: March 27, 2008, 07:47:30 PM »
Now I know even less than I thought I knew...

I'm sure we haven't had 2600 members who went into the template settings and loaded John-1 or whatever I called it. I assume they are seeing the new hair piece without changing settings. You didn't have to do anything did you Don?
« Last Edit: March 28, 2008, 05:04:17 AM by John Raabe »
None of us are as smart as all of us.

Offline MountainDon

  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 16,606
  • Jemez Mountains, NM; that's pronounced HEY-mess
    • My 15.75 x 30 Jemez Cabin
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #17 on: March 27, 2008, 08:19:58 PM »
No I did nothing. When I saw your post I looked up and there it was.


It is strange though. I noticed that both the Forum or Board Default and the John-1 themes show 2601 users as of right now. That's a duplication. If I change to John-1 everything looks the same to me as one Default.    ???

And then there's 1 user on Classic YaBB SE Theme and 1 user on Babylon Theme. I'm sure most users have no idea that there are choices.
Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn’t mean it is good design.

Offline glenn kangiser

  • The Troglodyte
  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 24,910
  • Central California Sierras- Home of Yosemite NP
    • Underground Cabin
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #18 on: March 27, 2008, 08:23:05 PM »
Looks like it is also the default so I could have changed to that also I think and be the same as everybody else...but I didn't  -- so now that I'm different I feel better. [crz]

I was on a different template before.
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

Offline MountainDon

  • Administrator
  • Journeyman
  • *****
  • Posts: 16,606
  • Jemez Mountains, NM; that's pronounced HEY-mess
    • My 15.75 x 30 Jemez Cabin
Re: Does your header on the page show "Building and Design..."?
« Reply #19 on: March 27, 2008, 08:24:31 PM »
You are a Classic. Of some kind or another.


But who's the Babylonian?
Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn’t mean it is good design.