Fly Fishing

Started by StinkerBell, February 23, 2008, 11:50:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

StinkerBell

I am just wondering if their is a fair amount of people who like Fly Fishing?

Redoverfarm

Stink I tried a couple of times but everytime I got the hook next to them they flew up and landed on the ceiling. ;)  Now on a more serious note.  I think this is one of the lost arts.  My day used to fly fish years ago but has since given it up.  My son is starting to get into fishing as trout are abundant here.  He has indicated that he wants to start fly fishing and I encourage him to do so.  The spinning reel moved the fishing in another direction so to speak.

Last year my son caught a 24" channel cat of 4-1/2 lbs

Daddymem

One of my coworkers is an avid salt water fly fisherman.  He get stripers and blues all the time, that's big fish for fly fishin'!
Où sont passées toutes nos nuits de rêve?
Aide-moi à les retrouver.
" I'm an engineer Cap'n, not a miracle worker"

http://littlehouseonthesandpit.wordpress.com/

MountainDon

Fishing?  ???

Most fishing has never held my interest for long.  :o Sort of like baseball.  ???

I did enjoy salmon fishing off Vancouver Island once many years ago. And I also had a great experience fishing  in Manitoba (pike and walleye), also many years ago. Both times the fish were big. Everything else pales in comparison.

Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn't mean it is good design.

StinkerBell

The reason I ask is my hubby Nethog, has been working on this "Fly Fishing Web Site" .
He thinks its going to be great....I am not so sure how many people fly fish.

However I see a pattern with Men and Sons. Maybe that is why I am not getting it.

MountainDon

I have seen guys standing in cold running water for hours having what they profess to be the most wonderful time. So they are out there that's for certain.
Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn't mean it is good design.

MaineRhino