Advise sought on pier construction....

Started by NM_Shooter, November 17, 2007, 07:14:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NM_Shooter

Hi... what a nice site!  My first of probably many posts.

I am going to be constructing a small cabin (maybe based on the small house plans?) in Northern New Mexico at a fairly high elevation:  10k feet.  I have absolutely found Eden, but with all things like this, the access sucks.  I can drive my 12' utility trailer next to where I will build, but I am 2.5 hours from the closest lumber yard.  It is 60 minutes just on a nasty rock and mud road.  Sounds perfect to me too.  :D

I have some experience framing and with general contracting as I built my own addition on my house, as well as two barns.  Here is a link to my addition pictures, I have not updated in two years, but it is 99% done (never 100%, right?)
http://mywebpages.comcast.net/a.wirtz12/housebuild/Wirtz_Addition.html

So... I have never built on piers.  Stemwalls only.  So I am a bit concerned about some of the details, especially since I don't want to tote up anything longer than 12 feet.  Because of the snow load, the whole thing has to be bomb proof.

I want to build a 16X24 little house, with a loft.  I may stretch the wall studs to 9' just to give the loft a bit more headroom.  Plans are to run a 8' porch along the long side of the structure, so the footprint will actually be 24X24.  I'll have to brace the heck out of the porch roof, as 8 to 10 feet of snow is not uncommon.  Since the main roof will be dumping snow on the porch roof, I sort of get a double whammy.  (Any thoughts on this?)

I'm guessing that the piers will be spaced on a 12'X8' spacing, so I will have three rows of four piers.  I kind of like the idea of having center support for the cabin, and a center post to help out with the loft weight.

I'm thinking of using cinder block pilasters stacked on site and filled with concrete as the piers.