Private Property Rights and other stuff

Started by peternap, December 11, 2008, 06:00:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

peternap

I have been a pro gun person for 50 years.

Virginia has had good success keeping anti gun laws out and making improvements in what we have.

Much of the progress is due to Virginia Citizens Defense League. I am a member and until recently, had few complaints.

This year may be different. As a hunter and primarily a rural person, I am concerned with outdoor activities and property owners rights.

We have recently had a new kind of Pro Gun activists show up. These people live by their Concealed Weapons Permits, live in cities and are terrified to go anywhere without a gun. They even wear it at home.

I let my permit expire years ago. Here's why.
http://news.oldva.org/?p=186

This new breed of gunowners are believers in forcing employers to allow firearms on the property. On the face, sounds good...except it takes away the property owners right to say no.

Further, they are constantly pressing for greater rights for permit holders only.

This is about toi divide our ranks in Va. How can I support half an agenda?
These here is God's finest scupturings! And there ain't no laws for the brave ones! And there ain't no asylums for the crazy ones! And there ain't no churches, except for this right here!

Redoverfarm

Peter even half of a agenda in the right direction is better than one complete in the wrong direction.

I am fortunate in that I am given a lifetime concealed permit in state and with the states that WV has  reciprocity with. In fact I now believe that Virginia is a newly added member.  I could seek a National permit but it would require qualification semi-annually in Charleston.  I really can't justify the two trips a year. So in essence if you have one in VA it would be good here as well.  The other states are

SC
AZ
AR
FL
KY
MI
MS
MO
NC
OH
OK
PA
SD
TN
UT