Today I'm a Painter

Started by MountainDon, March 23, 2008, 05:25:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MountainDon

Well here we are on Spring Break. No trip to sun drenched places for us.  ;) No sir, we live in one.

This year we are painting the master bedroom. Painting is not listed on my things I like to do list. Once I get going with actual paint brush and roller it's not bad. I don't like the all important preparatory work. And the furniture moving. And then re-hanging all the pictures, they don't always go back in the same position, which means spackling the nail holes before and making new ones after.

I've got the top half done.  :) On to the bottom half Tuesday.  :-\

Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn't mean it is good design.

MountainDon

I got disturbed during that first post, and pressed the Enter key in error.  :-[

The upper portion of the walls are to be one shade the bottom another. I've always had a small amount of bleed under the tape. I have been told the secret to a successful job by a pro painter.  :) Maybe ya'll already knew this but I never did, or forgot it if I'd ever heard of it.

Once one half the wall has been painted and had dried, run the tape line. I was told the 3M Blue tape is best. Take some paintable caulk and apply a little bit along the edge where the second color will be painted. I've painted the upper section, so the edge to be painted is the lower edge of the tape.

Rub it smooth along the tape edge, some on the tape and some on the wall that is to be painted. Smooth no bumps or ridges, especially on the part on the wall. Let dry slightly.

Paint the next wall section, in my case the lower portion. Let paint dry 1 hour. Pull the tape adn there should be a straight edge with no under flow.