Steps To Building

Started by whit, August 31, 2012, 08:22:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

whit

Hi All,

Is there anyone out there on the forum who can list the steps they took to building their cottage from clearing the land, to building a road, adding septic, well, electrical hookup, to building the actual cottage. I guess my main question is can this all be done in stages? I am working with a limited budget so I would like to tackle projects one at a time and them pay them off as I go.

For instance when I build the road, how much room do I need beyond where the cottage will be to get the well driller and septic digger in?
Could I install the septic and well before building?
How do I pick the best location for the cottage on the property?

I'm almost looking for a shopping list of what people have done.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Yes I'm a real newbie   ::)

hpinson

I wonder if there might be value in you determining these steps yourself, using threads in this forum as a model. Most of the build stories here follow a similar path - look for and aquire some land, purchase or develop plans, do a small learning or test project - perhaps a storage shed, get legal permits and permissions, perhaps hire contractors for certain stages, work with inspectors, aquire materials, add water/septic, build foundations, floor, walls, roof, sheath and close, add electrical, add plumbing, finishing, enjoying results...  There really is a common pattern.

Just go through ten build threads that you like here, and take notes.  Those steps and their details of how various members solved their attendant problems, should emerge for you.

Redoverfarm

There are steps in some builds that are unique to a particular which can not be generalized with everyone.  Here is a few sites which layout the process.  Maybe not to a "t" but basic.

http://www.home-building-answers.com/step-by-step-home-building.html

http://home.howstuffworks.com/home-improvement/repair/house2.htm