My Dream - Is it feasible or will you laugh too?

Started by MIEDRN, June 14, 2006, 08:54:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MIEDRN

I've always wanted my own home and as my four sons grew older we frequently dreamed of building. They have many skills in the construction industry. Still, there are many things I would have to contract out.

I'm a nurse (that's where my ID comes from) and you probably know the majority of nurses are...let's say traditional. I'm not, partly out of necessity.

People laugh at me when I say I want to build and pay cash. I'm not looking for a mansion here but I do want it easy to care for, energy efficient and small! Some character wouldn't hurt either.

For the first time in my life, I have enough money to save. I've never had my own home. Again, because of circumstances.

I could do this, couldn't I? I want to buy land, put a storage shed on it and slowly get materials on sale, salvage, used? Couldn't I take a minimalistic approach initially and finish it luxuriously (figure of speech) sometime before I die? :)

Others have done it, right? I'm not afraid of hard work....heck, I do it for others! I guess I'm looking for reassurance that this is realistic, doable.

Your thoughts or suggestions?

jonseyhay

Hi MIEDRN,
Welcome aboard, I see no reason at all why you can't have what you want. We all started with a dream and by battling away some of us are on the way to success. Mostly it's a matter of time, if you have plenty of that, building can be relatively inexpensive. A couple of handy friends, the folk on the forum and one of John's starter plans and you are on the way. These can be easily added on to and built as money is available.
:)

CREATIVE1

No one should ever laugh at a dream.

Possible?  Sure.  It's a trade off, might have to go slow, make some sacrifices.  But retiring with a big mortgage usually means you'll be working until you're 80---that's whats scary.