Parent's Get-Away

Started by Pala, August 27, 2006, 02:51:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pala

First set of hoops have been successfully jumped.  Plans are here:

http://www.kinnik.com/gallery/view_album.php?set_albumName=plans

We dig the foundation Tuesday 8/29/06.  Photo updates ASAP.

Wish me luck ;-)

chuck.

glenn-k

jraabe

Looks like a nice project Pala

(Also, the more I look at it, the more it looks like a Ross Chapin design??)

Pala

Yep, if thats kosher.

chatycady

jwv

QuoteLooks like a nice project Pala

I thought the same thing, John.  Of course, I studied those designs in depth when trying to come up with something small but aesthetic for our home.  That was before I found this forum!

It does look great and good luck. You know this group-the more pics the better!

Your caulk tag line  ;D I have this island in my kitchen which I am "remodeling" (I'm sprucing up the kitchen in hopes of increasing the saleability).  I bought lattice strips to frame the sides and back-as I was gluing and tacking in certain places there were going to be gaps.  "What should I do?"  Rick's (the Gimp) answer-"I've got some caulk that'll take care of that" and he was right!  [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Judy

Pala

Breaking ground feels good.  Click my signature for more picutures under "FOUNDATION".

Enjoy.

glenn-k

Pala

Forms are 1/2 done.  :o

We decided not to do a mono-pour since we need to back fill the interior because of the site slope.  Pouring the perimeter first, backfill with pea gravel, then pour the 4" slab and grade beams in a second pour.  Engineering calls for 16"w x 18" deep thickened edges and 8" separation grade to wood.  90 deg. bent rebar 12" o.c ties the slab and perimeter wall together.  Hopefully not a significant enough change to make the inspector balk.  

Dividing the job will make it easier to concentrate on things like the radiant tubes and placing threaded rod for the PHD hold downs.

Click my link below for some more photos from today.