No Building Experience

Started by onegreynight, January 30, 2007, 10:49:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

onegreynight

Hello All:
This forum is AWESOME, and I am so inspired by all the stories and advice.  I have been reading about building for about a year now, but I have no experience thus far.  I am wondering how difficult it is for someone like me to build a house.  My husband and I have some land in NW Arkansas, and we are interested in building either the 14 x 24 builders cabin or the 16 x 28 Victoria's Cottage.  Would we be biting off more than we can chew with these size plans?  Do you recommend that we start off smaller?  

Well, that is all for now.  I just want to get my feet wet in the forum.  Thanks for reading!

:)

KELLY

glenn-k

Welcome Kelly.  Not biting off more than you can chew if you want to work at it.

We have many who have not "picked up a hammer" before and are now living in  their own house.

Best would be to build at least a shed or something for practice or volunteer to help some one - some try Habitats for Humanity volunteer work, but if that's not possible, maybe you can find some willing experienced help to get you started.

You may find another member nearby you could learn from and help also.

Jared

Where in NWA is your land? I don't have experience either, and no time unfortunately, but I'm in NWA also.
Jared

youngins

Wife and I have virtually no building experience.

We bought John's Enchilada plans with a dream to build a cabin on a property we bought in South Central CO (which is over 700 miles away). To build our confidence in tackling this, we decided to design/build a playhouse in our backyard (details coming soon!!!)

Anyways, welcome and look forward to hearing again from you soon.

jraabe