HELP! Build Rafters for a Loft in my Cabin

Started by bkchristopher, February 22, 2013, 09:10:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bkchristopher

Ok guys, Im new to the building era for the most part.  I'm building a 16x24 cabin at our hunting property and really want a loft area to use for a small bedroom.  I was thinking a 12/12 pitch on the roof.  Should I use regular 8' walls or should I go with 10' walls?   Also, how high up is my ridge board suppose to be with each wall height?  All and any help/info will help.  I plan on building this baby very soon.  Actually the dozer is coming this next Tuesday....

Thanks guys!!!

Redoverfarm

You might consider "attic engineered trusses"  if you can't get the details worked out to stick build.  A little more money but IMO well worth it.

bkchristopher

Redoverfarm

Most lumber yards deal with truss manufacturers.  Give them the style truss (attic) ,demensions of your build , specify the span (16-24"OC) and the amount of overhang you want.  I might recommend that you set on 16"OC to make it a more rigid floor.  You will not get the size room normally the same as your cabin demensions but reduced somewhat in a attic truss.  Example on mine I had a 26' wide structure and was given the option of either a 12' or 15' wide room.  The additional room on either side was used for storage.

rick91351

Quote from: bkchristopher on February 22, 2013, 10:16:14 AM
Where do i order them from?

Yellow pages / phone book / local internet link.  They engineer them, stamp the engineering sheet as part of the deal or at least around home they do.

As Redoverfarm says

Quote from: Redoverfarm on February 22, 2013, 09:37:24 AM
You might consider "attic engineered trusses"  if you can't get the details worked out to stick build.  A little more money but IMO well worth it.