Cabin project in east washington

Started by diyfrank, November 22, 2008, 11:25:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

diyfrank

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie to the site. Just wanted to introduce myself. I'm frank,
I've been doing some reading here. I'm planning a small hunting cabin in ferry county this next spring. The property has some awesome views and the wildlife is abundant. There's no power or water. The land has between 0 and 30% slopes, lots of bed rock. It's a 6 hour drive from where I live. It gets cold, windy & snow for 6 months. 3500 ft elevation. It has its challenges to overcome.
I'm keeping it simple. A 16 x 20 with one wall and 16 x 10 loft.
It will sit on 6x6 treated posts  3 ft in the ground and filled with concrete 2x12 floor joists 2x6 studs 2x10 rafters and 4x12 ridge beam
I have my lumber package, windows and doors.
Still looking for metal roof and siding. your Suggestion welcomed.
I met with the county planner. I have a plan in mind and what he wants, I can't do with the software I bought. 
I'm going to try and draw them up. Paper work is my biggest weakness. 
Home is where you make it

rwanders

Do you know what sort of snow load you will have to deal with?  How about roof pitch?  12/12 would not only give you more headroom in the loft and more usable loft floor space but, it would also help with snow loads by shedding snow before it gets very heavy. Will it be a four season cabin or will it hibernate over the winter?  If a 3 season place heating capacity will obviously be much reduced. I definitely like metal roofing----the most economical is probably plain galvanized corrugated roofing. It comes in various gauge weights. If you browse both the general and projects forums you will find many answers----and the plans section may reveal ready made plans that can be easily customized to fit your specific desires.

Welcome to the forums!!

Rwanders lived in Southcentral Alaska since 1967
Now lives in St Augustine, Florida

diyfrank