Got tiling tips?

Started by NM_Shooter, February 23, 2008, 12:30:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NM_Shooter

I've gotten a ton of good help from this site, and would like to contribute some tips back.  I was a complete noob at tiling 18 months ago, and now have a few jobs under my belt.  I learned the hard way, and having started from zero knowledge I thought I might share what I learned to ease anyone else's learning curve.  Note that all of this was school of hard knocks  d*, so take this advise with a grain of salt as it could be all wrong. 

Please chime in with your own advice.

Okay.. here are the Cliff notes version:

1)  Like anything else, get decent tools.  You don't have to have the best, but don't buy cheap stuff.  Get a good sliding tray tile saw; they can be had at big box builder stores for about $250 or so.  Or get a used one off of craigslist.  Don't rent, you'll be in too much of a hurry.  If you buy and then sell when the job is done, you will be money ahead.

2)  This is probably obvious to everyone else, but have a good plan.  Know where that first tile is going to go... usually in the middle of the wall, middle of the floor, middle of whatever.  Use a chalk line and levels to set that first row.  Reuse the chalk line as you go to make sure your work is straight.  Don't count on the spacers to keep you even.

3)  Grout is evil.  The smaller the grout line, the easier it is to grout, and the less likely dirty grout is going to ruin your work down the road.  Seems like floor grout looks better a little wider, but for showers and walls especially, use 1/8 width spacing. 

4)  Beware porcelin (sp?) tile.  This stuff is crazy hard.  Ceramic is softer, and is easier on your blades.  I think that travertine is softest yet, but it needs sealing on a regular basis.