Yee ha! I'm a farmer (well, chicken rancher anyway)

Started by NM_Shooter, April 20, 2008, 07:58:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NM_Shooter

Took my kids out chicken shopping today.  First stop, Village Mercantile.  24 X 18 wire cage, water bottle, feeder, 25# of feed.  No chicks there.  Went to another feed store to check out their stock with a buddy and his daughter.  I ended up starting my "flock" with two Rhode Is. Reds, two Buff Orpingtons, and two California Whites.  Going to try and get some Americanas maybe. 

A bit of an expensive afternoon (~$70 all together)  but I guess ranchin' is like that. 

I told my wife I needed a tractor.

Frank
"Officium Vacuus Auctorita"

MountainDon

Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn't mean it is good design.

glenn kangiser

Everyone knows you can't farm chickens without a tractor. [crz]
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

ScottA

rofl You'll need a farm tax number too so you can by red farm diesel. Do you already have a barn?

NM_Shooter

You know, I don't need anything crazy.  I could probably suffice with a Kubota R420 or similar, as long as it had a backhoe and a front loader.  Have you ever picked up a sack of chicken feed?  Cripes that's heavy.  My 11 year old daughter can barely carry them. 

I do have a barn, but it is being used as a camper storage.  Hmmm... probably need to get a better one that has ventilation fans.

Here's a picture of my peeps. 

Homegrown Tomatoes

Cute chicks...  You better hurry up and get that tractor so that you can raise all your own feed for those little gals.... save you from having to pick up those heavy feed bags! ;D

John Raabe