Fireplace insert help

Started by db4570, November 04, 2016, 11:39:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

db4570

We have an old family cabin that I am doing some work on. One thing I want to do is install a wood burning fireplace insert in the existing fireplace, but it's a bit of an odd configuration. The fireplace is raised off the floor about a foot, and there's no hearth.

Most inserts look like they stick out several inches or even up to a foot. I wonder if it matters if it sticks out? I assume I would need a fireproof shield under it covering the floor. I have a big piece of slate I am thinking about using for that.

I am not looking for a particular brand/model, as I am at the whim of whatever I can find on Craigslist that will fit for under $200.

I have never worked on stove stuff before, so don't know a lot about the subject. The next challenge will be getting the chimney flue attached.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

David

kenhill

Do some research at: https://regency-fire.com/Products/Wood/Wood-Inserts/H2100
We have a regency and it fits almost entirely in the fireplace opening.  We also got rock wool and packed tightly around the entire stove to prevent the downdraft of cold air in the original flue.  You will need to run a pipe all the way to the top to have enough heat to draw the smoke.

Redoverfarm

Generally there is a heart in front of the fireplace.  Mostly mason products, stone, brick and ect....    You might have to add just to have enough room for the insert the sit upon.  It also helps as hot embers tend to roll out of the door and have a place to land that is not combustible. But it should not stop there.  Fire proof floor covering at least semi-circle in front of the door.  Most professionals will frown just dead heading the flue pipe above the damper (if one is installed).  Best to get a Stainless Steel liner up the flue.

db4570

Thanks for the replies.