wall framing

Started by dug, December 10, 2009, 07:52:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dug

I am laying out my wall framing and have a couple of questions. I am ordering all my windows and am wondering if it is a good idea to try and conform my windows in order to line up wit existing studs if possible? In other words I may have to move a window slightly or order a slightly different size from what would be my ideal placement. Or is better to design your walls exactly how you want them and frame the walls accordingly? A rookie question maybe but I guess I am a rookie!

Also- using 16 in. oc studs, is 32 in. from the corner too close to place a window (on non-gable end/ supporting wall)? Or would it be better to go 4 ft. and get a full sheet at the corner?

thanks in advance!!

MarkAndDebbie

I too am a rookie, but I lined my windows up with an existing stud to be one of the king studs.

I don't know about the distance from the corner, but it is recommended (but not required) to run the sheathing the other direction (8' left to right). Then stagger them.

dug

QuoteI don't know about the distance from the corner, but it is recommended (but not required) to run the sheathing the other direction (8' left to right). Then stagger them.

This prompts another question I had. I most often see the sheathing laid out horizontally but the book I have for reference (Framing your own house/ Robert Roskind) says it can be done that way, however it is stronger to run it vertically. More nails on the stud vertically. ????

MarkAndDebbie

PEG says it is stronger the other way, but people don't because of the need for additional blocking
http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=3711.msg42494#msg42494

Re-reading some of these, it looks like I may have to put my blocking the other way. I was planing on putting a 2x4 with the 4" vertical for that seam. I was thinking .5" + 1.5" = 6D nail.

Anyone know if the orientation is UBC or IRC or both?

MountainDon