Underground Water Cistern

Started by MountainDon, November 04, 2008, 01:38:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MountainDon

Does anyone have any personal experience with underground potable water cisterns? Or thoughts about them?

Here's the background. We don't have our own well yet. We use water from a neighbor's well. It's too far away and too much of a rise to pump. We haul it as needed. This is not going to be easy possible when the snow gets too deep for the Cherokee and trailer. And no, we won't be plowing 4 miles of road to maintain access. At tat point we switch to snowmobile access.

Water left in an above ground tank or other containers will freeze. Hence the underground thought.

Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn't mean it is good design.

John_C

I have a lot of experience with cisterns for potable water, both in and above ground.  All of my experience is in tropical climates.  I've read about people who had cisterns in climates with extreme cold weather and they buried them deeply, used a variety of methods th absorb solar heat and sometimes used solar "bubblers" to minimize freezing. 

Can you dig it down below the frost line?

Redoverfarm

Don just get it below the frost line.  Any lines will have to be that way too.  If you are going to be too low for the house and only occassionally use it you could get a frost free hydrant.  I believe that a small RV pump will pull it up into the house even if the lines are lower than the foundation.  I would say depending on the amount of water that you draw down when staying there a 500-1000 Poly tank will work. 

MountainDon

I guess I should have mentioned I'd have my neighbor James dig a hole with his backhoe skidsteer attachment. I believe he can go below frost depth enough to get the bulk of the tank below the three foot level. I'm thinking of a spherical tank, 325 gallons or maybe 525. Those can sit empty without damage.