Flat Roof

Started by georgevacabin, August 05, 2007, 02:01:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

georgevacabin

Hello All,

First let me say that I have been lurking on this forum for a while and have made the decision to purchase the Little House Design Kit.  Mainly because the folks on this forum/site are friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful.  So right up front, I want to say thank you - as a complete newbee I know I will have many questions.

Enough of that  ;D

My first question - Does anyone have experience building a flat roof on the 14x24?  I am interested in the additional space that this size offers but not the loft, A-frame roof.  Any photos out there?

Thanks!!!!

glenn-k

Welcome to the forum George.  Glad you like it.

I did the 14x24 as a garage but standard gable roof.  The Flat roof would be much easier.

It would just be a bigger version of John's retreat cabin with proper sized roof members.

Or - similar to my storage garage with a flat roof.

It could look something like this inside - note that I converted to post and beam framing on my own.  

All in all my photos are not real relevant except to get an  idea of size.

georgevacabin

Hey Glenn,

Thanks for your prompt response and pics!   I plan on breaking ground in a month on property we have owned for about 3 years.  Wish me luck!  

Again, great site!

glenn-k

Please keep us posted.  Thanks for the compliments. :)

georgevacabin

Getting closer to breaking ground (9/28) and I'm finding that I have more and more questions.  Nerves I guess  :D.  In reference to the flat roof - is it possible to extend the walls upward so that you still have room for a small loft with the shed roof?

Thanks!

p.s. foundation questions to follow  ;D

glenn kangiser

No reason not to.  Some even extend one wall much higher than the other for more slope or better drainage - different look, etc.
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe