Structural Problems Insignficant?

Started by Medeek, February 14, 2012, 01:24:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Medeek

We are currently closing on a house in Washington State and our inspector found some minor structural problems.  We approached the builder / general contractor to see if he might correct them being that the house is technically still covered under its original warranty.  However, he basically came back with that the problems had no basis and the inspector doesn't know what he is talking about.  I've posted a copy of the original inspection report if anyone cares to look at it here:

http://design.medeek.com/house/INSPECTION_REPORT.pdf

Maybe I'm just overly concerned here or overly picky since I am a mechanical engineer by trade. 

I know a lot of you have building experience and probably have a better idea of what constitutes a "structural" problem than I do so I want to see what your opinions might be.   The area of interest is page 12 and 13 of the report, the pictures give you an idea of the problems but more pictures would be helpful.
Nathaniel P. Wilkerson, P.E.
Designer, Programmer and Engineer

Brian_G

My only area of expertise on your report is the hvac section. If the inspector noted that the filter was dirty and the system has not been maintained it might be a good idea to have the system inspected by a heating and cooling company. I have done this type of work for over 12 years and people get themselves into trouble right after buying houses all the time. Not only does a dirty system decrease the efficiency of the system it also shortens the lifespan of the equipment. It is not uncommon here in Charlotte to find systems 5 to 7 years old that are in such poor condition that replacement is the most realistic choice.