Vet discount at Lowe's

Started by Okie_Bob, May 15, 2011, 09:18:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Okie_Bob

Was at Lowe's recently and at checkout the lady asked if I was a vet. Don't know why she asked other than my new real short haircut but, told her I was and she asked if I had any kind of proof on me. I showed her my VA card, an old paper one I've carried many years for some unknown reason and she said perfect and gave me a 10% discount!. I've been back once since and asked for the discount and was given it without question! May not be much but, it's worth asking if you are ex-military. I only served 5 years and did not retire, just served my time and got out.
Check it out.

325ABN

Have not been to Lowes but may be going there in the future seeing how Home Depot has revoked the Vet discount for us "regular" Combat Vets and now only give it to us on certain holidays or if you are retired or service connected you can get it every day. d* ???

MountainDon

Lowe's also gives 10% off to active duty, unless that has changed in the last year or sp.
Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn't mean it is good design.

firefox

I subscribe to a military vehicle forum and they posted that it was
corporate policy for both HD and Lowes to give 10 % to anyone who has served in the US armed services irregardless of time in service.
They say to call the 800 service line for the corporation if a store denies it to you.

Disclaimer: I have not verified this yet.
Bruce
Bruce & Robbie
MVPA 23824

FrankInWI

I always get the military discount at HD.  I do show them ID on occasion, but they never asked if I was disabeled (which I am).   I show them my VA ID.

I don't shop at Lowes.   

We also have a big home improvement retailer in midwest called Menards (bigger lumber selection than the others, and very aggresive pricing).  Menards has no such program, and I make a point to shop them less because of it.
god helps those who help them selves

325ABN