New member and foundation question

Started by liga, February 26, 2009, 02:19:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

liga

Hi
I am a 61 single guy, former computer worker, semi retired with a limited income in the San Juan Islands.  This is my first post in the forum.   I am new to buiding anything and consider the forum a great opportunity to learn more about the process of building.  Thank you in advance for reading my post.  Advise would be appreciated.

I recently got the big enchilada package and am considering building the 14 x 24 "builders cottage" as an upgrade from the 29 ft travel trailer I have been living in for 3 years.  I am getting tired of frozen water pipes, inadaquate heating in the winter, and the shortage of space for clothing closets and bathing.  For me the builders cottage would be a lot more space to live in. 

I have my own shy acre in NW Washington at sea level with a well and electricity already in.  The septic soil test guy said my soil percs real good.  There is a slight grade on the property, roughly 1:15  or 1:20 as a guess.  I am a novice builder with very little experience.  I get a lot of advice from others and although I am sure it is well meant, many times it just leaves me troubled.  The issue of foundation is an example.

Some have told me to get a perimeter foundation and have it done professionally.   Anything less is a recipe for failure of the project.  That advice comes from an in law licensed general contractor, but is immediately a problem because I am on a very tight budget and the owner builder permit I hoped to use doesnt' allow hiring contractors to do any significant $ work for me.  The cost of switching to a conventional permit and the expense of hiring foundation contractors would probably be thousands more than doing it myself.   That money could be used for kitchen cabinets or other amenities I wouldn't otherwise be able to afford.