What I do for a living since I live kinda remote

Started by Willy, January 01, 2008, 01:28:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Willy

Hello; This is what I found to do living out in the remote areas of Eastern Washington to help make a living. I built this Water Tender a few years back and contract with the USFS on Wildland Fires. The work is very exciting but only for a few months of the year during fire season. Building the Tender took around 3 months to sorta finish but I add things to it as I get extra money and during the boring times in the winter. Mark H.

Here is a link to some photos of it and fires it has been on.
http://imageevent.com/willy/watertender

glenn kangiser

Nice truck, Mark.  We have opportunities like that here but I haven't pursued it.  Fire is big business here though.
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

tanya

I live in Eastern Wa too.  You might want to consider hauling water for people who don't have any wells.  These days you can buy big water tanks for household water far cheaper than putting in a well but I don't see any water delivery services in the yellow pages.  The lady I worked for in CA this past fall had a big tank and the water truck just comes and fills it up every month or so a lot of people around here could sure use that service.  Even on a temporary basis at times... wells go dry and pipes freeze. 
Peresrverance, persistance and passion, keys to the good life.

Willy

Quote from: tanya on January 01, 2008, 04:26:59 PM