Workshop/Studio Stanwood WA

Started by Medeek, February 09, 2012, 12:57:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Medeek

I've been designing this shop/studio/garage for the last couple of months, its 24x48, I might increase the size to 28x48.  Anyhow, I'm pretty new to construction so I've spend some quality time reading up on framing, concrete etc...  I think I'm almost there with the design but I found this board that has answered some of my questions so I thought I might post up some screenshots so I can get some feedback before we start spending money...

More pictures here:
http://design.medeek.com/studio/
Nathaniel P. Wilkerson, P.E.
Designer, Programmer and Engineer

waggin

w*  to the neighborhood!  I'm just across the county line to your north, so I'll call it close enough to be neighbors.

In your design, did you consider one large shed dormer per side?  That would give you a much wider and more usable upstairs area, plus it would improve views from that area out the windows.  I'm guessing it would also involve significantly less labor both in framing and roofing.  Disclosure:  I'm partial to shed dormers, but I understand if you prefer the aesthetics of the gable dormers.  If you like the gable dormers, had you considered fewer but wider dormers?  Looks like you're building on a slope; will there be a partial daylight basement on the downhill side? 

Will look forward to seeing your project!

Edit: Answered the question about the basement by going to your photos.  Interesting view; I'm guessing that's not something visible from Stanwood, is it?
If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy. (Red Green)

desimulacra

First I am impressed with your model. What did you do it in??

Second I also like larger dormers, they give a lot more usable space and IMO have a lot more appeal inside. 
Had a friend with really narrow dormers, which yours may not be, and he hated them (bought house unfinished upstairs, then finished).
West Tennessee