16 x 28 Little House Commencing in N. Wisconsin

Started by crose, August 22, 2007, 02:08:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

crose

And finally, after two decades of dreaming about this, Im starting this cabin.  I purchased the Big Enchilada plans and got some great ideas, as well as absolutes musts, for beginning the project (Im a complete novice with building).  I wish I would have gotten the plans before I started the foundation though.

At 25 years old I purchased 30-ac for pretty cheap in the woods of N. Wisconsin.  My dream was to build a log cabin using my own logs.  But now Im a husband, father, grandfather, and have piled up a month of vacation to get up a shell.  I flew from CA to N. Wisonsin (my homeland) for a week to put in the foundation.  I got that done.

Ive got three rows of 3 holes filled with 3/4" angular gravel.  The holes are 2-ft square at a minimum of 25-in depth.  I made sure to get get down to undisturbed mineral soil.  The soil is sand with granitic gravel showing up about 1-ft down.  Water percs in the holes no problem.   There's a lake across the gravel road.   There is virtually no clay.  Good thing as the frostline is about 4-ft deep.  Between the holes are smaller 1-ft square holes to support the middle portion of the beams.  On these I placed 18"x18"x2" pavers, then built up from there with either concrete block, or the deck blocks in the smaller holes.

I could go on for hours about how this went.  But the short story is that, although in CA there are millions of the pyramid blocks with the simpson tie for a 4-in beam, the only thing close I could find was a porch block for an upright 4x4 without the tie.  So, since the guy on the other 40 next door has a 82,000 lb modular sitting on concrete block that hasnt budged in years, I went that route on the corners and middle, with the porch blocks and 4x4s between.  I will try to post a reduced size of the photo.