Contemporary cabin

Started by subigo, August 16, 2005, 10:53:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

subigo

Hey all... long time lurker here, first time poster :)

I have been researching different housing options for a few months now and have finally decided on a basic idea. I have looked at everything from yurts to domes to cabins to used shipping containers... finally decided that I wanted something fixed.

A little background... I am 26 years old with no kids... just a nice girlfriend. There are no plans for kids, ever. I have about an acre of land that I can do anything on. No building codes at all... (I live in MO.)

This is going to be something I live in full time. I have been paying $600+ to live in apartments since 1998 and I am sick of throwing money away. Instead of buying a house, I want to build one... so I get just what I want.

Basically, I could care less about reselling the house, I want something for me. I have long term plans for this place.

I hate (always have) huge houses. Just seems like wasted space to me. In fact, I live in a 1000sf apartment and spend 90% of the time in 300sf of it. Now for the good stuff....

I want something simple, but a little more modern than a log cabin. I am thinking about 900 square feet would be perfect. I want a square house that seems more like a loft. Just one big room. The bathroom would have a single wall divider and the same goes for the bedroom. Hardwood floors would  be throughout the entire cabin and a woodstove would be used for heating.

The closest thing I have found is this: http://ourhouse.ninemsn.com.au/ourhouse/factsheets/db/artanddesign/09/990.asp

However, that link shows something that is prefab and goes for like $150,000.

I want to stay around $50,000.

What do you think? Can I have something very simple like that and complete it for under 50k?

Amanda_931

That gets answered with the phrase of the day

[glb]It all depends.[/glb]