Shower surround help needed

Started by Okie_Bob, July 19, 2005, 06:05:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Okie_Bob

Surrond is made of 3/4" plywood and the pan was factory made and installed with drain.
I had planned to use 1/2" green sheetrock on the inside and then tile from floor to ceiling. Now I see that 'wonder board' is recommended in a Home Depot DIY ad in their tile dept and can't decide if maybe I should use it instead of the green sheetrock?
Also, since I've never laid ceramic tile before, do I have to put up any kind of screen over the sheetrock/wonder board or can I just put the thinset directly on the sheetrock/wonderboard and tile away? I have no experience with ceramic tile and can use some help. Most everything I've been able to read talks about how to install tile on floors but, not much on verticle walls.
Okie Bob

jonseyhay

Hi Bob.
A site that might help you.
http://www.hammerzone.com/archives/flooring/tile/prep1/cement_backer.htm

These guys use thin-set, which is an adhesive mortar, to mount the tile. This should work on the wall as well. I don't have any experience with this stuff (not available over here). We use a Hardie product that is similar although not as porous as this seems to be. Link below look for the tech manuals, you should find what you need there.

http://www.jameshardie.com.au/Products/InternalLinings/HardiGlazeTileSheets/
jonsey

Sorry Bob,
That one was the wrong stuff but it looks like it may be worth looking at, so I have left it, try this one.

http://www.jameshardie.com.au/Products/InternalLinings/VillaboardLining/

glenn-k