Does anyone here live full time in a carriage house/garage apartment?

Started by ToddSInGA, December 18, 2008, 06:30:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ToddSInGA

Newbie here, so please be gentle :)

I'm in the process of looking for my first house and in my research I've stumbled on this site. Since I've moved a large number of times in my life due to either family or job relocations I've finally found an area that I want to stay in and with a stable but not so great paying job I'm looking for my first house as I'm tired of renting and everything that goes with it. My current rent is more than an average mortgage, but in this area living somewhere less expensive equates to a less than safe enviroment.

As a teen I had a friend whose parents let him use the studio apartment above thier garage as his room, both to give him privacy and to allow him to practice his drums without disturbing them! Needless to say he was the envy of all the kids in school!!! The apartment was a source of extra income for his family when he was younger and even had a washer and dryer. It was almost like he was living in his own house.

Almost every place that I've lived in as a adult has been either in a townhome or a second floor or higher apartment, and in my search for an affordable first home most of what I've found in my price range ($80,000 or less) have been single story ranches or bungalows on a slab, with floor plans that didn't feel right. As a single person I don't need a large amount of space right now but I don't want to hurt the resale value by getting something too small either. I prefer to be above ground level for privacy and security reasons as well.