Any ideas on how to hold soffit by myself

Started by peternap, December 21, 2007, 08:23:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

peternap

This is getting interesting. Not only am I doing a type of building I've never done before....but I'm doing it by myself.

Now I've put soffit on many times, but always with a helper. How am I going to hold that floppy thing in place until I nail it?
Ideas please..... :-[
These here is God's finest scupturings! And there ain't no laws for the brave ones! And there ain't no asylums for the crazy ones! And there ain't no churches, except for this right here!

PEG688

Not enought info to giude you. What type of material , how wide, how long???  ??? And how far off the ground, do you have staging ? or will it all be done off a ladder?? 

Maybe others can do a "Vulcan Mind meld"  with you I could but your brain couldn't take it  [scared] rofl
When in doubt , build it stout with something you know about .

peternap

Hardboard, 16' long. 20' up on a ladder although I can put up the walkboard on ladder jacks.
These here is God's finest scupturings! And there ain't no laws for the brave ones! And there ain't no asylums for the crazy ones! And there ain't no churches, except for this right here!

glenn kangiser

Crimoney PEG -- Wanna do the Vulcan Mind Meld with me?  ??? [scared]
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

glenn kangiser

OK Peter -- got you covered -- maybe.

I assume fairly light and limber as my .. hmm ... dogs tail.