Easiest Build.. Log Kit vs. Panelized or Stick?

Started by AdironDoc, September 01, 2010, 05:43:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AdironDoc

My father and I got to talking about building something together in upstate New York. As time went on, he became convinced that I need something "just a bit bigger..and bigger..and..". Well, fact is, I'm not a builder by trade and have only a few weeks over a summer to devote. He, the builder, is long since retired. Looking at the ads and websites, they look deceptively easy to build. I'm sure there's way more elbow grease than they let on, but it made me wonder about the relative ease of the log  kits, versus the panelized home kits. I'm thinking on the order of 20 x 30 and a 12/12 roof for a loft. Builders I've asked want roughly 30K for a roughed in 24 x 36, but where's the fun in that? Moreover the kits go for much less and include more. We've stick-built simple additions together in the past but never a kit. Lastly, the cabin site is off the grid down a dirt road not accessible by a tractor trailer.

Has anyone put up a panelized cabin? My understanding is that if you can lift a 4ft wide finished wall segment, you can essentially do the whole cabin, piece by piece. The log kits also appear easy, at least on the youtube ads. Any wisdom on value vs. ease would be appreciated..  Too many factors has my head spinning. Thanks!  ???

cabinfever

I did a lot of research on kits before I started my own 16 x 28 project. No matter how you sliced it, they were at least 1/3 more expensive than stick framing, and often more. I can't tell you if they go up faster, but they just didn't make sense on my budget even if they do.

MountainDon

I don't think there's any question about a kit of any type costing more money. I came to the same conclusion.