20x45 two story or 20 x 80 one story

Started by dablack, September 21, 2010, 08:30:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dablack

Ok guys, I guess this is my intro thread as well. 

Situation:  I'm a mechanical engineer living in houston.  My wife and I have two girls and we are adopting two more children.  We are also trying to become debt free.  We currently live in a 2200 sqft house near NASA that was built back in 68.  We love the house and neighborhood but it will take 30 years to pay it off (one income family).  With the four kids, I know we are going to need about 1800-2000 sqft.  NOTE:  I know my dimensions above don't give 1800 sqft, I plan to put a utilities room (washer/dryer/etc) on the back of the house. 

Background:  I have restored lots of furniture, built automotive engines, painted cars, pulled and replaced tubs, replaced house siding, done lots of tile and wood floor work, and I'm pretty good at drywall and texture.  I'm about to order some granite and replace the counter tops in the house we have now.  If I can't do it, I will keep trying until I can. 

After the adoption is done, we would like to buy some property in the country and start building a house.  The wife doesn't like two stories but I do like the simplicity of the 20' width.  Which would be cheaper and faster to build?  A 20 x 45 two story or a 20 x 80 one story.  I know the two story would be bigger.  I know the one story would have lots more roof. 

Later I will post asking general questions about keeping the costs down on which ever plan we pick.

thanks for the great site.  I have been reading and reading for about a month now.  I used to want to build a timber frame house but seeing how long those things take, moved me towards stick building. 

thanks
Austin 

JRR

"Welcome!" It reads to me as though you have most of the skill sets necessary to launch into house building.