Ceramic floor tile over vinyl flooring

Started by n74tg, May 23, 2007, 10:02:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

n74tg

Girlfriend wants to tile the kitchen and laundry room.  She bought a tile book written by Lowe's.  They say if the vinyl flooring is non-resilient and is stuck down well you can tile right over it.   We're gonna strip it good to get all the wax off (she's been waxing it for years).

Any thoughts/recommendations/advice/rants?

thanks

MountainDon

What's under the vinyl? wood of some kind? concrete slab?

I'm not an expert, but I don't like the idea of installing ceramic over vinyl, It's a lot of work laying and grouting and I'd hate for something to show up later...

Vinyl on concrete comes up pretty nice, over wood a bit more messy/difficult to remove. I've done both. If you were to apply ceramic over the vinyl I'd have a real good close & hard look at all the edges, area by the sink toe kick etc. before making my final decision.

One more thing. If this is a wood joist floor and you can see what size joists, spans etc, you might want to check the link on this page to see how it stacks up for deflection limits recommended for ceramic tile.
Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn't mean it is good design.

glenn kangiser

I'd go with it.

If you are going to be putting ceramic over a wood (t&g etc) floor, it is necessary to put a vinyl slipsheet over the wood to keep the annual expansion and contraction of the wood from tearing the tile loose.  I put a vinyl sheet over 1x3 t&g at our other place then ceramic tile directly on the vinyl.  I was instructed by a former tile installer at a store.

It worked fine and has been in for about 10 years.  Where there were a bit unstable areas as where a wall was removed there was a small problem with a bit of the grout loosening but for the most part it was trouble free.
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe