Solar Saltbox with Basement?

Started by Daddymem, March 04, 2005, 12:43:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Daddymem

Hi.  We're in love with the solar saltbox plans.  We live in Massachusetts, have an empty lot, and are ready to build.  Has anyone had any experience with modifying the plans for use over a full basement?  Would the thermal column still work?

Thanks,
Daddymem
Où sont passées toutes nos nuits de rêve?
Aide-moi à les retrouver.
" I'm an engineer Cap'n, not a miracle worker"

http://littlehouseonthesandpit.wordpress.com/

John Raabe

It would be very easy to modify the plan for a full basement. The stair is setup for such a layout. You could use the thermal column on the structural hearth above and just extend the walls down into the basement and use this sturdy room as a storage vault or safe room.
None of us are as smart as all of us.

Jochen

John,

I have just ordered the Saltbox Plans and have problems to understand you.

" You could use the thermal column on the structural hearth above and just extend the walls down into the basement ......"

Only a lot of ????????? are coming up for me.

Cheers,
Jochen

glenn kangiser

Hi Jochen.  Nice to hear from you again.  Lots of people love your place.

John was on the road but has been checking in.  Hope to get an answer from him soon.
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

Jochen

Glen,