Backhoe or Bobcat

Started by Chuckca, May 01, 2007, 01:13:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chuckca

Which would you?  I like the idea of having one of these at the building site. When you need it - it's there.  I beleive that it would be  cost effecctive.  I have no experience with either.....is there a steep learning curve.  I'd like yalls thoughts. :)  Am I thinking smart or wacky :) GO EASY!  We'd being  doing a 650' S gravel driveway, 200x300 pond, basement, 3 car garge, some trenching.  20x36 1 1/2 model.

My brother-in-law has both.  He's leaveing the construction business.  I would be responsible for the transportation costs from Los Angeles.  I have my choice.  No cost to me except for needed repairs and delivery.  

I'll be getting model and condition information later this week.  

Thanks

skiwest

Used at auction the cheapest backhoe is going to be more expensive than the most expensive skid steer ( biggest/ fewest hours/late model)  So if even close in price you should be able to fix it yourself if you  go the older/high hours back hoe route.  

We went skid steer , 3600lb capacity weight ~9500lbs.  So can tow with a 1 ton truck.  Bought hoe so can trench but is not the type that pivots  so alot cheaper but takes longer to dig as have to move to dump.  Also got forks and a blade.  Skid steers are pretty easy to operate though maintence can be a pain as everything is so compact.

can dig a hole 5foot deep with the hoe we got.  Thought that use hoe for digging out stumps but bucket caqn take out most as not that big and sandy /gravel soil.  Some stuborn ones we used hoe.

glenn kangiser

I like em both Chuck.  I'd just get one of each.  

Hard choice for me, but I think the skid steer is the most versatile and they are digging fools.  Just don't waste your time on a real junker one.  
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0