16 x 32 Western Maine mountains

Started by Jim C, December 19, 2012, 05:43:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jim C

Hi, I have been reading this forum for quite some time now. I thought it was time to jump in and try and get as much help as I can! We are in the planning stages of building a cabin in the western mountains of Maine. We purchased 10 acres of land with an existing foundation, a walkout which is capped off and is useable as is, for now. We are 2 miles off the main road and access is by 4x4 only. Winter access is by snowmobile or snowshoes at this time. No electricity, water or septic. Existing outhouse with composting toilet suits us just fine! AS far as building the camp, I have never built a residential structure before. I am in the construction business and have been for a long time. I am familiar with how things work mostly, just not in a personal residential way. If it is a power plant i can build it!! I do have a lot of questions. I purchased the small house plans which the largest house is 14x28, my foundation is 16x32, I figured that expanding the size of the plans would be doable. Any suggestions on this matter would be greatly appreciated. I have plenty of questions but this is a good place to start. I will post pictures of what I have on the property as soon as I figure out how to do so. Thank You......Jim

Jim C

Started expanding on plans, 8 foot walls of 2x6 studs 16" o/c. Wondering if I should go 6' or 8' to the top of my ridge. Thinking 6' would be easier to handle since I will be doing most of the work myself. I believe 6' will still give me enough pitch with a metal roof to shed the snow. I am also considering wrapping the wall studs with tyvek house wrap and applying T-1-11 siding over that. Trying to keep all materials (lumber) under 12' long. Transport of material will be over 2mi on a class vi road via pickup only. Roof ridge and rafters 2x8 at 24" o/c.

MountainDon