Sweet Cup Lane - 16x12 Cabin near Augusta, GA

Started by CutOnce, January 31, 2012, 10:28:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CutOnce

Hello All,
Newest of newbies here and long, long time lurker. I feel like I know you all and your projects intimately (not in a creepy way though ;D).  This is my first time posting because I wanted to wait until I have something relevant-ish to add or is it take-away since I'm looking for answers?

I currently live in Atlanta but wanted this little cabin for shelter security.  I will be building it in my garage and plan on erecting it on my little piece heaven with the help of  a couple paid handymen in April.

I have learned so much from the site.  I look at the members' projects and feel like, "I can do this" AND "Realistically, how much would it cost to have this built". Right now, I am feeling like this is possible; so I am going to ask a few pointed questions before I start feeling  inadequate again. I have attached my drawings here for reference. House1 https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-kwmBxZ9pgN0/TyiaN3iYiwI/AAAAAAAAABY/Pl05ZiNvIuw/s144/House1.jpg
House2 https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-9XsBptHA958/TyiaOGNRuBI/AAAAAAAAABc/2tdSc9psq9M/s144/House2.jpg

Here goes:

1. I would like to make the sidewalls 12 feet but have never seen this done by anyone here and wondered if it is not adviseable. Thoughts?

2. Framing: I'm a minimalist and won't have any extra heavy loads in it.  For simplicity's sake, can I frame the whole thing in 2x6, 24" o.c. and still have it be structurally sound? (As I write this, I'm saying to myself, "If you have to ask". [tell me anyway] ???).

3. Georgia gets full southern sun (maybe everywhere does, idk   d*) and I am set on having that balcony face south.  I like the idea of growing things there and relaxing in the evenings. Can anyone share their thoughts on living with a south-facing balcony.  Was it just too much sun to enjoy the space fully?