Thieves are everywhere...

Started by Native_NM, November 11, 2012, 04:37:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Native_NM

I have been storing build material at the company yard for the last 18 months.  I built a small raised frame to store lumber which I kept covered with good tarps.  My plan was to build the basic 16x24 at the yard and transport on the flatbed that hauls the big front loader.  Over the summer we had numerous cases of metal theft.  They destroyed our big HVAC for the copper coils, ripped the wire from the temporary power poles, and pretty much swiped everything not welded down.  The yard was fenced all the way around, and we had six cameras covering the place.  I would monitor the yard from the house as well.  If it was metal, they swiped it.  Our company yard is in an industrial area of town with little residential development.  As soon as the sun starts falling, it is open season.  The police have pretty much been useless and the local task force commander admitted they simply didn't have the resources to deal with the problem.   :( :(

Until two weeks ago, the lumber was left alone; somebody drove up at dusk with a flatbed and loaded it up.  There were two guys and they were there for 8 minutes.  I recognized the truck and trailer as I had seen it driving through the open area over the summer.  All the cameras did was allow me to know when it happened.  We couldn't see their faces or even get a plate.  The lumber was not really a concern so I wasn't really monitoring it.   They were fast and efficient.  If they worked that hard at a real job they would probably get rich.  Most of it was 2x6 as well as the 2x10 and 2x12 for the frame.