Temp. Electrical Service

Started by Jimmy C., March 01, 2006, 03:08:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jimmy C.

I am ready to have temp. power at my site. I called the power company and they told me I would need to install a temp. service pole before they came out and surveyed the layout. I know very little about this.  I would rather install this myself. Can you guys give me suggestions?  
The hardest part is getting past the mental blocks about what you are capable of doing.
Cason 2-Story Project MY PROGRESS PHOTOS

Okie_Bob

Jimmy, I'm NOT a licensed electrician but,
You'll need the pole set where you want it with a full copper ground rod along side it. Then a meter base mounted on the pole and then a breaker box of some sort to turn off the power. Suggest you just go ahead with a box on the outside of your cabin with a feed thru going into the breaker box you will mount on an inside wall.
Or you could just come out of the meter base to another box mounted on the pole that has a main breaker and several receptacles in the same box. The breaker would shut off power to all the recpts and any other sub breakers in that box. Then you could at least run an extension cord from the temp pole to your cabin.
Hope that helps.
Okie Bob

Amanda_931

I've a "trailer pole" which amounts to more or less the same thing.  I paid a guy to "build" it--buy the pole with a box and meter base already on it at he local Ace Hardware, just put a meter (or did the electric company do that?  probably the utility company) couple of breakers in it, come off with the outlets I needed.  After it was put in, it got inspected.  Which didn't amount to much because the guy did this all the time and they knew him.  But it wasn't cheap, especially how little he did.  But then I don't know how much the hardware store charged.