12x16 Mt Hood "Workshop Chalet"

Started by DirtyLittleSecret, February 19, 2009, 12:04:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DirtyLittleSecret

Greetings to forum members!  First off, I've browsed and searched through the site, and am amazed at how much material is available...thanks to its community & members.  This really is an asset.

My wife and I are about to begin an adventure by building a sub 200 sq ft "cabin" (12'x16') on our 2 acre lot up on Mt Hood (~3,000 ft elevation).  It's been in my name longer than I've been alive, but even though I'm "grand father'd" we don't want to face all the permitting requirements, as we would like to build a larger residence later sometime, and while I've worked as a mechanic and welder, I have little experience in homebuilding besides some projects.   Had plans to start last Summer, but the place needed to be cleaned up which took a good deal of time (okay...A LOT of time).  Finally graduating after 12 years of University, and sprinting into the career marathon had some leverage on my spare time as well... Already have most the tools including saws, ladders, welders, generator, air compressors, common sense, etc. 

Anyhow, we plan to use our "Big Enchilada" kit, and the 12'x18' plans.  I swung by the county planning department to inquire about building a sub 200 sq ft "utility" building.  Already figure'd out where to place the building, but still have about 2' of snow on the ground.  Will be shooting for something like Bishopknight did with his cabin: http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=4569.0.