Countertop tile backer board?

Started by NM_Shooter, December 01, 2009, 09:49:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

NM_Shooter

OK.. this is what comes from digging around appliances in the kitchen.

We have been considering re-doing our countertop tile.  It has 12 years of hard wear on it and it is showing.  I have a week off at Christmas, and I think I can get it done in 4 days (ladies and gents, place your bets). 

After pulling the dishwasher last night, I noticed that the countertop surface appears to be particle board, but it also seems to be epoxy impregnated... not the typical wafer board stuff.  The sub surface will need to be replaced in at least one spot, as my contractor installed a warped piece of counter top that I have been staring at for 12 years and want to repair. 

Any suggestions for replacemement material for the sub surface of a tile counter top?  We have not decided if we are going to use tile again or granite tiles.  We're due for a major kitchen overhaul in a few years and this is to "get us through" for that period.
"Officium Vacuus Auctorita"

MountainDon

Many years ago when I did the finish work inside for a new home builder the tile guy he used insisted on 3/4 plywood to be installed as the first layer. He then mortared and screwed Wonderboard on top of that and installed the tile on that. He would not do tile with particle board as a base.

4 days. Sure if you got your ducks all in a row before the clock starts. No trips to the store while you are working.
Just because something has been done and has not failed, doesn't mean it is good design.

rick91351