post and  pier foundation questions

Started by BigMish, March 23, 2007, 08:49:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BigMish

After getting a few estimates for a crawls space foundation I am now considering post and  pier foundation. A few questions:
- I don't like the way they look, what methods have you used to cover or encase the foundation (any photos would be really helpful).
- I've got no concrete experience: how much of this could I really tackle in a reasonable time frame (don't want to spend more than, say, a month or two on the foundation).
- Can the concrete for such a small pour be reliably prepared on-site in a rented mixer?

Thanks, Mischa

glenn kangiser

How about cedar or redwood skirting around the post and pier similar to Rob's place continued down to near ground?

The concrete can be done with a hand mixer but is a lot of work.  Depending on the value of your time, it may be beneficial to pay  a truck to bring it in.  Over a yard I usually do.
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

BigMish

Can you give me Rob's member name so I can ask for some pix?

John_M

This may not be what you want to hear but.....I actually delayed the construction of my project for a year or two, to be sure I did (and could afford) everything I wanted to do.  

My crawlspace block foundation for my 18 x 32 cabin cost about $4500 but I feel I made a good decision by doing it that way.  I wanted a post and pier but my particular building inspector talked me out of it (for several reasons).  

Anyways....if you have a certain goal or "look" in mind....be patient!  You don't want to have any regrets down the road once you are finished!