Looking Into Building Small Cabin-Total Newbie

Started by busymammaof3, June 21, 2007, 07:25:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

busymammaof3

I am a young mother of 3. Separating from my husband. Seriously thinking of moving to Arkansas...to live near my grandparents (on their wooded property near Paragould).

My grandfather has already built their house and is helping my uncle start his "shed" right now. I am seriously thinking about doing the same. My husband receives about $650.00's each month from VA..which I plan to use. My grandfather has his own saw mill. They use the wood from the trees on their property and more than likely, it would be myself (helped my father demo & remodel many a home over the years), my grandfather and possibly my husband (once or twice-since he would be working with my father over 400 miles away).

Any advice, tips, suggestions would be wonderful.

I am not needing anything fancy. Just very functional. Needs to be wired, have plumbing, etc. It needs to accomodate one adult and 3 children (not for recreation as much as for basic living).

About how long would it take to build something like I am describing, ball park figure?

"Watch out! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; a man's life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions." Luke 12:15 (NIV)

John Raabe

The task you are considering is not an easy one. It will be more complex than you think at first. But, it can be done and has been clearly outlined in several of the owner-builder stories in the Gallery.

Here is [highlight]ONE[/highlight]

Here is [highlight]TWO[/highlight]