Ceiling Beam

Started by TCR, March 29, 2013, 09:31:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TCR

I'm getting ready to put walls up on 20 x 30 single story and thinking of using a beam from the bedroom/kitchen wall to the to the 20 ft wall to support 2x8 rafters so later we  might use the space above. looks like 20ft span. any thoughts?

grover

No answers???
Google LVL (laminated veneer lumber).  That would be what you should probably use for a ridge beam.  It also has to be well supported on each end because it carries a lot of weight.  I'm no expert but that's what little I've learned.  A lot of the requirements depend on where the cabin is located.  Snow loads, wind,...all that technical stuff.

flyingvan

Here's mine, it spans 20'--

It's a 6" x 12".  I guess technically it doesn't span 20' because I supported it at the 8' mark.  It was very heavy.  You can see the big twist in it.  I had to bolt boards to both ends and pull it straight with ratchet straps until the rafters were in.

Come to think of it, my first build had a 20' span.  I used a parallam beam for that, 4" x 12" I think...The parallam beams are very heavy, but don't tend to twist which is nice.  However----the tycos needed to nail in the joist hangars sure don't go in easy like with regular lumber
Find what you love and let it kill you.

UK4X4

You need to look at the expected loads- ie usage

Then have your local supplier size it, do a sketch of where it will be in the house design and your local lumber yard can size it for you

These days there are many options- from ugly lvl to nice looking glue lams

If you can manage a support then the required size comes down

I have a large beam spaning 36ft but has two posts under it supporting a full upstairs, its a glue lam as its fully in view

You can see it in my build page 2-3

John Raabe

TCR: