Hello and basement question

Started by MidwestEric, February 20, 2012, 02:56:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MidwestEric

Hello there, Eric here.  The work the members on this site do is very inspiring. Being a total novice, I hope to get something half as nice of what I see here put together. I am planning on putting up the 20x30 1 story and stretching it out to 20x34. Maybe even 22x34. Not sure how to pull off that width increase yet. I read a post or two about using floor trusses to go that width. I supposed the engineered joists are another alternative.

I want to put in a full basement, and have read posts about increasing the block height to accommodate.  I'll probably go with formed and poured walls, so I am not to concerned about figuring out how to do that.

Right now, I think I need some help on stairs going into the basement to decide on engineered floor supports or conventional framing.  I have searched the site, but all the internal stairs I find are for going to up to a 1 1/2 story loft.  I did find stairs to a basement, but they were external to the building. I am looking for internal basement stair examples.  The problem is allowing for enough headroom without taking up too much floor space.  This is in a building code area.

Compounding that are any required mid-span supports you might fight against to keep the necessary head room.

Here you can see the stairs directly across from the front door (hopefully this works):

I am concerned how to frame this up, and if any mid-span supports are needed.  Really looking to see what what others have done and get feedback on the plan in general. 

Thanks

Alan Gage