cost of building under $5,000.00

pics
0 (0%)
advise on starting
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 0

Voting closed: August 30, 2010, 03:35:18 PM

kchaney

I am new to all this and looking for advise on where and how to find books on this project??  Is there
any free books by mail out there?  Has anyone built a little house for under $5,000.00 and show me some pics?   Need help, I have my land just need advise.

Tom

People build for $5,000, but I doubt that many live in such a building. How big of a place are you looking to build?
As for keeping costs down, I'd recomend becoming a daily regular on craigslist. Hit the "free" section as well as "materials" each day.
I'm currently just under $4,000 on my 12x16. I have no running water. I have a woodstove purchased for winter heat. I have a ways to go before I'm through. I'm thinking that I'll come in somwhere between 5K and 6K when I'm through.
You can see it under "New land 12x16".
I've found everyone to be very patient and helpful. It's a good site if you want to build it yourself.
Good luck

John Raabe

Here's a link to the first "Little House" that started the plans kit - http://www.countryplans.com/cottage.htm

Each of my two kids, at different times, spent several months living there when they visited. These days it is mostly used for storage.

It could still be built for $1400, but it's pretty rustic.

Here's a much bigger version of the Little House plans that was done for $10k: http://www.countryplans.com/keller.html
None of us are as smart as all of us.

MushCreek

This site is definitely a good place to start for advice.