Rochester, NY - Irondequoit Bay: Future Camp!

Started by DrPhil, February 15, 2010, 10:52:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DrPhil

Hello everyone!  First let me say, this is a fantastic site... I've been reading thru everyone's builds and am picking up many great ideas.

My name is Phil, my wife's name is Pam.  I am an IT Manager and my wife is a licensed real estate consultant.  Computers are my profession, construction is my hobby :)  We are "in process" of purchasing 3/4 of an acre on the West side of Irondequoit Bay in Rochester, NY.  When I say "process"....... this has been going on since late September.  The owner's we are buying the land from, well, there is a cloud on the title....... right now everything appears to be moving along finally and we're hoping for final sign off on everything by the end of this month.

We got a great deal on the property, however, the major downfall is accessibility.  I do not have drive up access to the property.  There are camps to the north and south of our property, but ours is just open land (right now).  Electric, cable, & sewers are on site so I won't have to worry about those.  The big thing is, how do I get all of my building material to the property.  Most likely going with the post & beam foundation so I don't have to deal with getting a TON of concrete and block to the property.

Once we obtain the land, I'm going to talk to the neighbors to the south...... it looks as though I could drive across their properties to access mine, otherwise, everything will be barged over.  I will purchase all of the building materials, have them delivered to a barge, and then have the barge pushed over to our property.