pier and beam foundation

Started by Bobb, September 20, 2007, 11:04:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bobb

Hey all. I'm new at this so please redirect me if I'm in the wrong forum.
I need some advice on my plan for building a house using a pier and beam foundation.

Here it is: 18 holes dug around 36" deep and 12-15" wide. 3 rows of 6 piers with 8 foot spans between piers and 12 foot spans between rows. Very good soil with clay and rocks on a limestone bedrock shelf. 3 foot drop from high point to low point. Concrete footings in holes 15-20 inches thick with 1/2" rebar. Piers made of concrete poured into 8" sonotube. Girders 3, 2x12's nailed together. In piers install threaded rod through tube to use with 2x4 for bracing on girder. House will be around 42feet by 24feet, two story salt box.

What do you think?

glenn kangiser

Welcome, Bobb.
Sounds pretty substantial.

Were you working off of a plan?  Sounds similar to John's, but longer. :)
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

Bobb

Thanks Glenn,
No real plan, just stuff I've gleaned off the website and other books. I do have the 24x14 plan but this is much bigger obviously. I had an architect question my piers and was concerned with lateral motion but I think the braces and concrete piers should keep it stable. I would like to over build the foundation, maybe this is too much I don't know.

Bobb

TheWire

I'm assuming the lateral loads would be side forces primarily from wind.  How far is your cabin sitting off the ground at the low end?  If its close to the ground and secured to the columns, it should provide a good anchor for the rest of the building.  That combined with bracing on the taller legs is going to provide a lot of stability.

Jerry

glenn kangiser