Getting initial estimate from subs

Started by BigMish, March 18, 2007, 04:44:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BigMish

I am just getting started on the design stage of a home I am going to largely build my self. However, I plan to sub out some of the work. My first need is to come up with a very reliable estimate of the costs. I'm going to price out the materials for the parts I am going to do my self and obtain estimates of labor and materials directly form the subs for those parts I won't.

My question is this: what is the best way to approach the subs and with what information and paperwork? I realistically won't break ground until Spring 08 so I can't really call what I'd be asking them for a "bid". That being said, I want them to treat it seriously rather than just giving me some low-ball number until I actually get the formal bid.

Any advise would be helpful. Thanks, Mischa

peg_688

Tell them the truth , we don't like to be lied to anymore than you do! They will need either the page / pages pertaining to thier part of the job. Some , most , will need to see the site , a excavator giving a bid would need to either know the local area very well , or would need to see the site to give a honest bid on site work. Same as a general contractor , site conditions IE:  steep lot , poor road access,  congested conditions , distance to utilities , etc could/ would  impact over all cost.

Be sure to tell each sub what materials / quality products you are spec,ing.  So a apples to apples estimate can be given. In other word don't have one guy bid the job with plywood sheathing , clear cedar siding , wood window , and another give a price based on OBS sheathing , hardi brd siding, and vinyl windows.  Like and kind , once you decide what you can afford.    At least start every one out on the same page , you can add or subtract / exchange type specific products as you tweak the estimates.

desdawg