Acclimation of T&G Pine

Started by ellbaker, August 19, 2011, 10:50:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ellbaker

My cabin is insulated and ready for 1x6 pine.  At least I thought it was ready d*. The indoor conditions are not what they will be when the cabin is lived in.  Summertime in Alabama is humid and the A/C is not installed. The interior relative humidty will be considerably lower once the A/C is up and running.  Will my pine walls shrink enough to be noticeable?  Do I wait for fall when the relative humidity is lower before I install the pine?

ScottA

I'm no expert but I'd allow the wood to sit inside the house for 6-8 weeks before installing it. I let mine sit for 6 weeks and it still wasn't really enough. It worked out OK but could have been better.

rick91351

Quote from: ScottA on August 19, 2011, 11:12:54 PM
I'm no expert but I'd allow the wood to sit inside the house for 6-8 weeks before installing it. I let mine sit for 6 weeks and it still wasn't really enough. It worked out OK but could have been better.

Good advise Scott.  However please be aware also that when the humidity increases so will the width of your boards.  It is surprising the amount of pressure they can exert.  Some one like Don_P needs to weigh in on this as far as spacing or how tight.  Where I am located if the humidity get way up to around 30% it is a disaster.  People us terms like muggy and damp.  I been down south - down south.  This is not muggy nor damp.  Sort of like an Idaho rain.  (Might be a half inch and people here are going nuts building arks and boats ....)     

Proverbs 24:3-5 Through wisdom is an house builded; an by understanding it is established.  4 And by knowledge shall the chambers be filled with all precious and pleasant riches.  5 A wise man is strong; yea, a man of knowledge increaseth strength.

Don_P