gas pipes

Started by davidj, July 01, 2010, 11:57:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

davidj

I'm just about to start on the gas pipes for my 20x30 and it's my first time using steel pipe for anything non-trivial (although it's still a pretty small job - 1 x on-demand water heater, stove and refrigerator).

What's the best way of getting the right length for the pipe?  Is it essential to get a pipe threading tool?  Or is it reasonable to get the h/w store to cut it for me where necessary and just use the appropriate length nipples for tweaking the small runs?

Also, I'm gonna need 3/4" for the water heater.  Should I just do 3/4" everywhere (given the stove and fridge are pretty much on the way between the propane tank and the w/h)?  Or should I really do 1/2" for the rigid vertical stubs to the kitchen (but size the valves and flexible connections appropriately)?

Any other hints and suggestions?  Start from the end and work back to the entry point or start from the entry point and work to the end?

Thanks.

glenn kangiser

I generally get by fine using the proper length nipples.

I use coated pipe underground with all connections taped with 10 mil tape until out of the ground.  I use a good coat of PTFE paste recommended for gas on all connections.  I no longer ever use Teflon tape.  Too many leaks with it.

Make sure it is full size to the appliances that need it - I reduce the rest to 1/2" as needed.
"Always work from the general to the specific." J. Raabe

Glenn's Underground Cabin  http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=151.0

Please put your area in your sig line so we can assist with location specific answers.

MountainDon

I'd say there is no sense in using oversized pipe where not necessary. But make sure the size is correct for the appliance and length of run.

Rectorseal makes a great paste that approved for water and gas use. I'm with Glenn on the teflon tape. The only leaking threaded couplings I've ever had were made with teflon tape.