Wood interior Pro's and Con's

Started by RayN, October 12, 2005, 05:51:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RayN

I was wondering what the pro's and con's of doing a t&g finished wall instead of 1/2 sheetrock.  

There is a local sawmill so the price of the wood should be about twice that of sheetrock if my calculations are correct.  I'm thinking my labor would be about the same,  but cutting wood is much more fun than sanding compound.  

A combo of wood cathedral ceiling and sheetrock walls are also a possibility.  What have others found about wood interiors I should know about?

Thanks

Daddymem

Here are some pictures from the FirstDay site showing their wood interiors with same construction you are talking about.
http://www.firstdaycottage.com/pictures/interior.html

Où sont passées toutes nos nuits de rêve?
Aide-moi à les retrouver.
" I'm an engineer Cap'n, not a miracle worker"

http://littlehouseonthesandpit.wordpress.com/

Jimmy C.

I think there might be a trade off..

I could be wrong.

A wooden t&g wall or ceiling.  

Very Flammable

Flame resistant sheet rock wall.

But, if you paint it. There goes the flame resistance
The hardest part is getting past the mental blocks about what you are capable of doing.
Cason 2-Story Project MY PROGRESS PHOTOS

Dan

I have a friend whose cabin is full pine t&g walls and ceilings.  Very pretty.  He also has pine floors and kitchen cabinets.  Personally, I think it is too much, but get better as more decorations/wall hangings are put up.  The obvious con is the double the price bit, but the finish work can be almost as much work as drywall.  I've also thought of hoizontal t&g walls with drywall ceiling and box beams for that faux log cabin feeling.

glenn kangiser

90 percent of my cabin is wood with a little earth plaster.  If I burn up in it at least I'll die happy - with the exception of the slow agonizing death-- other than that, I always have to come back to this--